Roinn B Schools Camogie Match Report

In the Roinn B Kilkenny Schools Camogie Final on Thursday 5th June, 2025 both Urlingford National School and Rower/Inistioge Schools served up a thrilling encounter for the large attendance present at the well-presented James Stephen's venue.

In an evenly contested game refereed by Justin O'Dwyer where the lead changed hands on many occasions throughout the match, it took extra time to separate the sides. With the aid of the wind Rower/Inistioge had the better of the first half and lead by 2-02 to 1-02 at half time. Rower/Inistioge extended their lead at the start of the second half but the Urlingford girls displayed great resilience and teamwork when out performing their opponents in the last third of the game. Scores by Saoirse Joyce, Aoife Gibbons and Laura Minogue levelled up the game at 3-05 to 3-05 a piece entering the closing stages and only for the brilliance of Rower/Inistioge goalkeeper the Urlingford girls would have overtaken the Rower/Inistioge girls in ordinary time. Mollie Cotterell pulled off some outstanding saves and kept out a penalty also. Both sides appreciated the time to set-up and re-form before extra time as all girls had expended tremendous energy and given their all.

In extra time the Urlingford girls produced excellent camogie to score two early goals which would ultimately prove the difference between the teams. On a day when all girls contributed so massively to win the school's first ever Roinn B Camogie title the Urlingford NS success was based on a teak tough defence and the ability of our star players to deliver a big performance when it mattered most. Scenes of great joy followed as Aoife Lanigan, Kilkenny Camogie Board representative presented the cup to 6th class captains, Saoirse Joyce, Niamh Joyce, Aoife Gibbons, Ellen Harrington, Orla Sweetman and Emily Costello.

Urlingford NS Coaches: Philip Lonergan, Shonagh Ahern, Joey Hennessy, Dylan Grace, & Mark Dowling.

Urlingford National School panel on the day: Orla Sweetman, Sarah Harrington, Aoibhinn Manton, Ellen Harrington, Niamh Joyce, Laura Minogue, Saoirse Joyce, Emily Costello, Aoife Gibbons, Tara Keane, Amelia Fogarty Slattery, Amelia Barnaville, Evelyn Power, Eva Hughes, Robyn Upsdell, Michelle Cole, Vanessa Caschera, Lily Mae Hayden, and Arin Dursun.

Final Score: Urlingford National School 5-05

Rower/Inistioge Schools 3-05